This is the "Home" page of the "Ninth Grade Research: Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ninth Grade Research: Music  

Last Updated: May 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cambridgecsd.org/content.php?pid=658219 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Musical notes, make the world go round!

 

Bob Marely

"Bob Marley Performs in Holland, 1976." Gale Biography in Context. Detroit: Gale, 2010. Biography in Context. Web. 16 Feb. 2015.

One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.


Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_music.html#SreiFc2IgzjTLE6p.99

 

Books on music, musicians, bands @CCS

Cover Art
Waging Heavy Peace - Neil Young
ISBN: 0399159460
Publication Date: 2012-09-25

Cover Art
How Music Works - David Byrne
ISBN: 1936365537
Publication Date: 2012-09-12

Cover Art
The History of Reggae - Stuart A. Kallen
ISBN: 1590187407
Publication Date: 2005-09-02

Popular Music - Donald Clarke
ISBN: 0140511474
Publication Date: 1991-05-07

Cover Art
Rock Stars Encyclopedia - Dafydd Rees; Luke Crampton
ISBN: 0789446138
Publication Date: 1999-09-15

Cover Art
Girls Rock! - Mina Carson; Tisa Lewis; Susan M. Shaw
ISBN: 0813123100
Publication Date: 2004-07-23

 

Copyright Friendly Images

Copyright Friendly Images and Sounds

Creative Commons

Photo Pin

Pics4Learning is a copyright-friendly image library for teachers and students. The Pics4Learning collection consists of thousands of images that have been donated by students, teachers, and amateur photographers. Unlike many Internet sites, permission has been granted for teachers and students to use all of the images donated to the Pics4Learning collection.

Public Domain Images is a repository for top quality high resolution public domain photos. All photos on this site are public domain images. They are explicitly placed in the public domain. You can use all photos (image wallpapers) from this site for whatever you want, use it freely for personal and commercial use. This means that these images are copyright free and can be used for any purpose you like.

Wikimedia Commons is a database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. This link will take you directly to the hosted images.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.

Check out this Copyright Friendly Wiki!!

Google Advanced Image Search  Under usage right, in the drop down menu, choose labeled for reuse.

 

Musical Quotes


Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_music.html#SreiFc2IgzjTLE6p.99

 

Why Your Brain Craves Music

Read this article and answer the questions below, so you're able to discuss the article with the class.

By Michael D. Lemonick 
TEXT NOTES
This article not only describes the physiological and neurological reasons for music consumption, but also considers intellectual factors such as how paying for music stimulates us more than free music.
  1. How might music play a role in human survival?
  2. In what ways do we demonstrate enjoyment of music? ​
 

The Grateful Dead

"Grateful Dead." Gale Biography in Context. Detroit: Gale, 2011. Biography in Context. Web. 16 Feb. 2015.

 

Databases

 
external image biography_in_context.gif           external image gale_vrl_ref_lib_lgbetter1.gif 



external image academic_onefile_lg.gif  external image general_onefile_lg.gif 
 external image acad_exp_asap_lg.gif
 

Historical Databases

American History   


 

American Bandstand Fashion 50-80

 

American Bandstand Remembers the 60's

 

"Hear and See"

Video Production Tools:

Animoto: Ask Mrs. Brennan for login

Imovie: on a Mac computer 

Podcast Tools:

Audacity

GarageBand on a Mac: podcast

Other Tools:

Prezi

Thinglink: add links to a graphic

Canva: can design a graphic to use with Thinglink

 Glogster

 

Grateful Dead Thinglink

 

Inquiry Cycle

 

Thesis/Claim

How are musicians, influenced by the historical, political cultural events of the time period AND then how do they “play it forward”?

Who influenced your group or performer and what has been their impact on the genre or society in general.

 

 

Databases: Subject Specific

__________________________________________
Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

Subject Specific Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Terese Brennan
Contact Info
518.677.8527 Ext. 1434
Send Email
 

Mobile Music

 

CCS Catalog

 

ebooks @ CCS on Music

Cover Art
Tupac Shakur - Tayannah Lee McQuillar
ISBN: 0786745932
Publication Date: 2010-01-26

 

Books on music, musicians, bands @ CCS

Cover Art
Tupac Shakur - Fred L. Johnson; Tayannah Lee McQuillar
ISBN: 1568583877
Publication Date: 2010-01-26

Cover Art
Parents Aren't Supposed to Like It
ISBN: 078765387X
Publication Date: 2001-08-31

Cover Art
Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! - Bob Stanley
ISBN: 0393242692
Publication Date: 2014-07-14

Cover Art
The Art of Noise - Daniel Rachel
ISBN: 1250051290
Publication Date: 2014-10-07

Cover Art
Legends, Icons and Rebels - Robbie Robertson; Jim Guerinot; Sebastian Robertson; Jared Levine
ISBN: 1770495711
Publication Date: 2013-10-08

Cover Art
The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock and Roll - Patricia Romanowksi (Editor); Holly George-Warren (Editor); John Pareles (Editor)
ISBN: 0743201205
Publication Date: 2001-11-08

Cover Art
The History of Rock and Roll - Stuart A. Kallen
ISBN: 1590181263
Publication Date: 2002-08-30

Cover Art
The History of Jazz - Stuart A. Kallen
ISBN: 1590181255
Publication Date: 2002-08-22

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip