This is the "Home" page of the "Banned Books Week" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Banned Books Week  

Brennan/McDonald Banned Book Project
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cambridgecsd.org/bannedbooks Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Websites

American Library Association (ALA) Banned Books Week
An annual celebration of the freedom to read.

ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom
Materials for understanding intellectual freedom, censorship, and First Amendment issues.

Freedom to Read Foundation
Established in 1969 as a First Amendment legal defense organization affiliated with the American Library Association.

Anti-Censorship Center
From The National Council of Teachers of English.

Banned Books and Censorship Information
from Loyola University Libraries.

Censored (Links to many resources)

Freedom to Read Week (Canada)

Intellectual Freedom Issues

Kids speak out against censorship!

 

 

Library Media Center Materials

Cover Art
Censorship - Kate Burns, editor
Call Number: 363.31 CEN
ISBN: 0-7377-2009-3
Presents a collection of nineteen controversial essays that debate issues for and against censorship of a variety of forms of expression.


 

ALA's Office of Intellectual Freedom

 

Search Databases for Articles & More

NOTE: For home access to databases you will be prompted for a username and/or password , so pick up a library brochure with all the information.  A brochure is also in Mrs. Brennan's shared folder on Classlink.

  

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals.

A collection of content (from reference books, magazines, journals, multimedia and more) that helps students explore issues from all perspectives including more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays.

Noodle Tools

This online bibliography builder, which the Library Media Center (LMC) subscribes to, also enables you to use an online notecard system and write your paper in Google Docs. If using MLA (Modern Language Association) citation format choose MLA Advanced. Click on "Create a Personal ID" to set up a new account.  Your work will be saved indefinitely.

 

NPR Morning Edition

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Terese Brennan
Contact Info
518.677.8527 Ext. 1434
Send Email

Info from U.S. History in Context Database

 

E-Books Available at CCS Library

 

Cambridge Central School School District Selection Policy

 

E-Books Available in the CCS Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip